Professional Studies Teaching

In September I was asked to teach the Professional Studies unit of the HND Photography course at Coleg Llandrillo. At first I was somewhat taken aback that they should ask me as I am not a qualified teacher and also I only completed the HND myself in July of last year. However they assured me that they felt I was capable of the task and that it would help me start to gain some experience in teaching. I began the unit in October and it ran for 2 hours weekly until the end of January. My first session was such a nerve racking experience because though I was familiar with the surroundings, knew all the students and was well prepared with my teaching material, I wasn’t prepared for all those faces looking expectantly at me to enthrall them for the next two hours! I am pleased to say though that I got through it  and found the next session much easier. All in all the unit delivery went well I feel and I have learnt a lot about methods that work well and those that don’t based on feedback from the group. The preparation for each session took me a full day a week to prepare which I was surprised at but I realise that ‘if’ I am asked to deliver it again next year that most of the preparation is done and that I just need to tweak and update things. I have now received all the report files off the students for assessing and am pleased to say that it looks as though the hard work has paid off as I am really pleased with the results.

Leave a Reply

