Photography Technician

When I am not at Glyndwr University I work for Coleg Llandrillo as Photography Technician. I love my job as it gives me the opportunity to be involved in a creative environment where I constantly learn new things and am inspired by others. The bonus is I get paid for doing it!! People often ask me what I do and it is really hard to give a short, concise answer, so here is a list of just some of the things that keep me ‘out of mischief’! (This list is by no means exhaustive as it is an ever changing role and requires you to be very flexible)

  • Support and assist the art and photography tutors in their teaching role.
  • Support and facilitate the learning of art and photography students in the darkroom, photographic studio and mac suites.
  • Manage the photography budget.
  • Manage the provision of photography materials to include sourcing, buying and storing.
  • Co-ordinate the buying, maintenance and storage of equipment.
  • Set-up and management of a loan system for borrowing of equipment.
  • Responsibility for health and safety and risks in all photographic areas.
  • Induction of students in the use of equipment in photographic areas.
  • Maintain qualification in First Aid at work
  • Maintain Midas qualification for driving of minibuses.
  • Plan and execute educational trips relevant to photography.
  • Assist in the planning and setting up of end of year sows and other relevant shows as necessary.
Leave a Reply

