Paris

I think it’s about time I wrote down some thoughts about Paris. After all I have been back for 3 weeks. Still better late than never. There was so much to see between Paris Photo and the Fringe exhibitions it was mesmerising. Virtually around every corner was a show. Some were in the tiniest of spaces, others were in the open air displayed on a set of railings for instance and others of course were in very grand buildings. It was a real photographic feast. The highlight of the weekend for me was the Andres Kertesz exhibition which I found totally inspiring. The tiny little prints barely bigger than an image on a contact sheet were just exquisite. The gallery provided magnifiers for the observers to use, however it was so busy that there were none left.

I love his eye for composition and use of light and shadow.

His sense of comic timing very much reminds me of Richard Kalvars work, I suspect Kalvar was a fan of Kertesz as well.

Here are a couple of Kalvars images

Leave a Reply

